Faculties » Physical Sciences

Faculty of Physical Sciences


The philosophy of the Faculty of Physical Sciences is the production of the scientific and the technological manpower necessary for achieving the national goals of Nigeria in general and Edo State in particular.

To attain this, emphasis will be placed on the following objectives:

  1. The inculcation in students of the fundamental principles of science;
  2. The application of these principles to solve social problems; and
  3. The development in students of the capacity to innovate and improve, using local resources to achieve development.

It is hoped that the graduates produced will:

  1. Meet the needs of the State Government and the country for the teaching of all science subjects in their various institutions of learning;
  2. Fit into positions in the science and research sections of the various government ministries and parastatals, research institutes and the private sector;
  3. Become self-employed by setting up small scale industries/projects (commercial) as a result of the practical/applied orientation of the training programmes; and
  4. Be involved in proactive research that will be of immense benefits to the local community, the nation and the international community.


The faculty at present consists of the following four departments

Inorganic, Organic, Environmental Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry, Polymer Sciences and Technology, and Nature Products Chemistry.  There are two degree options in this Department, viz B.Sc. Chemistry and B.Sc. Industrial Chemistry.

Computer Science
General Computing, System Analysis and Design, Software Maintenance, Database Management and Design Analysis.

Mathematics and Statistics
Pure Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, Statistics, Industrial Process and Probability Theory

Courses leading to B.Sc. Physics and S. Sc. Geophysics respectively.