Faculties » Physical Sciences » Physics


The department of Physics offers two degree programmes leading to the award of a Bachelor of Science degree in Physics, denoted B.Sc. (Physics) and Bachelor of Science degree in Applied Physics (Geophysics) and denoted by B.Sc. (Applied Physics) (Geophysics).


The importance of Physics and Geophysics in the development of modern technology cannot be over-emphasized. Accordingly, the degree programme are geared towards the in depth acquisition of the right type of skills, scientific knowledge, competence and norms in both the theoretical and the experimental aspects of the subjects and its related disciplines. This will ensure that the products of the programme dream of a sound scientific base technological and industrial advancement. The programmes aims at providing opportunity for students to opt for any of the two degree programmes offered in the department.


A.  The degree programmes aim at providing the student with an intellectual environment favourable for the study of pure physics, Geophysics and related disciplines so that at the end of the training the products will be capable of:

  1. Pursuing research in pure/applied physics in any chosen field.
  2. Working in several public establishments such as Meteorology departments of Telecommunication, Aviation, Energy centres, surveying and medical physics, as well as in private establishment, mining and steel industries and manufacturing plants, and in the development of new materials and other sources of energy.
  3. Teaching in order to maintain the important cycle of imparting knowledge to future generation of Physicists and Geophysicists.
  4. Working in supervisory/advisory capacity in industries and other productive sectors of the economy.
  5. Converting into the engineering fields in such areas as Electrical Engineering, Computer Technology, etc.

B.  Physics, being fundamental to the proper understanding of other areas of science, the Department also aims at providing service courses for students in other departments/units of the university.


The minimum admission requirement for the four-year programme in Physics  and Applied Physics (Geophysics) are five SSCE/GCE credit level passes (or their equivalents) in English Language, Physics, Mathematics and Chemistry in the examination.

Direct Entry
The minimum admission requirements for the three-year programme (direct entry) are GCE ‘A’ level passes (or their equivalents) in Physics and Mathematics in addition to GCE ‘O’ level credits (or their equivalents) in at least English Language, Physics, Chemistry and other subject with both results being obtained at not more than two sittings and provided no subject is counted twice. Appropriate passes in the NCE examination may be accepted.